Judges from throughout the nation will participate in the 2022 National Finals. To a large extent, the quality of the National Finals depends upon the expertise and demeanor of the judges.

divide b
Judges (listed alphabetically)

Barry Anderson, Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court, St. Paul, MN

Sean Arthurs, Director of Global Education, EarthRights International, Washington, D.C.

John Aughenbaugh, Associate Professor of Political Science, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA

Jack Barlow, Professor of Politics, Juniata College, Huntingdon, PA

Paul Bennett, Clinical Professor of Law, University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law, Tucson, AZ

Zelalem Bogale, Attorney and Adjunct Professor of Race, Law, and Criminal Justice, Nevada Center for Civic Engagement, Reno, NV

Reid Bowman, Retired Attorney, Annapolis MD

Alan Brodman, CCE Consultant, Monroe Township, NN

Jocelyn Broman, Legislative Assistant, Office of Alaska - At Large, Washington, D.C.

Lester Brooks, Professor, Anne Arundel Community College, Arnold, MD

Chris Cavanaugh, Center for Civic Education Consultant, Bismarck High School, Bismarck, ND

Henry Chambers, Jr., Professor of Law, University of Richmond, Richmond, VA

Augustus Chin, Municipal Judge, City of Holladay Justice Court, Holladay, UT

Dustin Cohan, PhD Candidate in History, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI

Lance Collins, Per Diem District Court Judge, District Court of the Second Circuit, Hawai'i, Wailuku, HI

John DeLoache, Senior Staff Attorney, South Carolina Association of Counties, Columbia, SC

Robert Dion, Professor of Political Science, University of Evansville, Evansville, IN

Lindsey Draper, Judicial Ct. Commissioner (Ret.), Milwaukee County, Wauwatosa, WI

Nicholas Drummond, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Black Hills State University, Spearfish, SD

Francene Engel, Lecturer of Political Science, Maryland Council for Civic and History Education, Gambrills, MD

Susan Firestone, Retired Attorney, Fort Wayne, IN

Steve Frantzich, Professor Emeritus, U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD

Erin Gard, Attorney, Federal Government, Chicago, IL

Jamie Gass, Director of the Center for School Reform, Pioneer Institute, Boston, MA

Benjamin Glickman, Supervising Deputy Attorney General, California Department of Justice, Sacramento, CA

Michael Gooch, Attorney at Law, Criminal Justice Act, Panel Member, District of Nebraska, Bennington, NE

Randy Gordon, Attorney, The Law Offices of Randy S. Gordon, Merrimack, NH

Max Griffith, Corporate Counsel, Similarweb, Inc., Boston, MA

Mary Hallock Morris, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville, IN

Alyssa Hanou, Program Manager, British Embassy Washington, Washington, D.C.

Elizabeth Harris, Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals, Denver, CO

Rosie Heffernan, CCE Consultant, Bradenton, FL

Charlie Hinderliter, Director of Government Affairs, St. Louis REALTORS®, St. Louis, MO

Drew Horvath, Adjunct-University of Indianapolis (ret),CCE Consultant, University of Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

David  Hudson, Jr., Professor, Belmont Law School, Nashville, TN

Alex Ingoglia, Attorney, Alston & Bird LLP, Atlanta, GA

Ronnald Jeffrey, Judge, Cheyenne Municipal Court, Cheyenne, WY

Stephen Jewett, Judge, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Winter Park, FL

Katie Keeshen, Field Representative, California State Assembly, Livermore, CA

Michael Kelly, Family Court Judge(Ret), Charleston, WV

Darci Kern, Associate Professor, Southern Connecticut State University, New Haven, CT

Ally Kjellander, Corporate Healthcare Attorney, Holland & Hart, LLP, Boise, ID

Stephen Kostyo, Senior Policy Advisor, Learning Policy Institute, Washington, DC

Brit Kreimeyer, Trial Attorney, Ada County Public Defender’s Office, Boise, ID

Margo Lambert, Dr., University of Cincinnati Blue Ash College, Cincinnati, OH

Hon. Jack Landau, Distinguished Jurist in Residence, Willamette University College of Law, Salem, OR

Susan Leeson, Senior State Supreme Court Justice, Oregon Supreme Court, Salem, OR

Andrew Levy, Attorney, Brown Goldstein Levy LLP, Baltimore, MD

Jason McConnell, Assistant Professor, University of Wyoming, Laramie,WY

Tandy McConnell, Social Studies Educator, Richland II School District, Columbia, SC

Reta McKannan, Attorney at Law, Huntsville, AL

Hon. Michael Miles, Jefferson County Commission, Birmingham, AL

Tim Moore, Deputy Director, Center for the Study of the American Constitution, Waukesha, WI

Tim Murphy, Director, Master of Liberal Arts, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Paul Nolette, Associate Professor of Political Science, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI 

Liza Prendergast, Vice President, Democracy International, Washington, D.C.

Ashlee Pouncy, Assistant County Attorney, Miami-Dade County, Miami, FL

Beth Ratway, Senior TA Consultant, American Institutes for Research, Merton, WI

Jeannette Robertson, Attorney, Robertson Law Firm, Jonesboro, AR

Donald Rogers, Instructor of History (Retired), Formerly of Central Connecticut State University, Vernon, CT

Molly Russell, Access Supervisor, Legal Aid of West Virginia, Morgantown, WV

Rohit Sidher, Nevada Center for Civic Engagement, Legacy High School, Las Vegas, NV

Lynne Simons, Chief District Court Judge, Second Judicial District Court-State of Nevada, Reno, NV

Karl Smith, Deputy Solicitor General, Washington State Attorney General's Office, Olympia, WA

Avi Springer, Attorney, Rubin Kidney Myer & VIncent, Barre, VT

Candida Steel, Judge (ret), U.S. Civilian Board of Contract Appeals, Owls Head, ME

Rebecca Steinhoff, Chief Operations Officer, John P. Ellbogen Foundation, Casper, WY

Joseph Stewart, Jr., Professor of Political Science, Clemson University, Clemson, SC

Daniel Taubman, Senior Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals, Denver, CO

Tom Tinder, Lawyer, West Virginia Bar Foundation, Charleston, WV

Steven Uejio, Staff Attorney, U.S. District Court for the District of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI

Edward Volpe, Attorney, Edward L. Volpe, P. C., Denver, CO

Tom Vontz, Professor of Education, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Mike Williams, Professor of Political Science and International Relations, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA

Keri Welch, Attorney, sklawyers, pllc, Manchester, NH

Scott Wylie, Executive Director, Pro Bono Indiana, Evansville, IN


divide b
Judges' Resources

We the People High School Textbook

  Judges' Orientation Video


2022 National Finals

We the People Logo

Important Information




Contact Rebecca Reeder at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Robert Leming at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


CCE LogoThis site is brought to you by the Center for Civic Education. The Center's mission is to promote an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy. The Center has reached more than 30 million students and their teachers since 1965. Learn more.

Center for Civic Education

5115 Douglas Fir Road, Suite J
Calabasas, CA 91302

  Phone: (818) 591-9321

  Email: web@civiced.org

  Media Inquiries: cce@civiced.org

  Website: www.civiced.org

© Center for Civic Education